AANViS Board & Meetings

AANViS Board

President - Dan Clayton

Vice-President - Justin Dos Ramos

Secretary - Taylor Smyth

Treasurer - Philipp Wloka

Member-at-Large - Priya Bosman

Member-at-Large - Jack Davis

Past-President - Richard Patching

Recent Activities

The Board has met monthly on Zoom during this period, with a number of members participating in these meetings. As a relatively new organization, we are still setting directions and developing a vision of what AANViS will be and do. Although we have bylaws registered with the Government of Alberta outlining basic rules, there is still room to describe how we operate on a day-to-day basis, how we make decisions and how we communicate. Our Vice-President, Justin Dos Ramos, has worked with interested members to develop a "Terms of Reference" document to flesh out these ideas. One of the ideas to come out of this process is to have an open roundtable discussion near the end of each board meeting where members in attendance can discuss any other topics, provide updates, share information, etc.

We are also acting on various suggestions for future directions from our first Annual General Meeting. These include

  • Promoting Student Engagement in the Acoustics Field - We have reached out to faculty in Engineering, Architectural Studies, Environmental Design and Communications to find opportunities to present on work in the field to students and seek out relevant student organizations.
  • Outreach to Build AANViS Awareness/Membership - Our Secretary, Taylor Smyth, has been reaching out to organizations in related areas.
  • Member Communication/Engagement - We have invited members to write articles for our website and newsletter, as well as identify topics of interest.

Board Meetings

AANViS board meetings are open to all members and interested parties. The next meeting will be early fall 2023, stay tuned for more details! 

Passcode: 885007

No comments:

Post a Comment